In Mallorca, the Johannesburg Festival is celebrated - and more than a week. Kick off with the capital Palma on 23. June, with the Nit de Foc (the night of the fire).

The festival begins in Palma with a spectacular "correfoc" (Firewalking). It is celebrated in the Parc del Mar, front of the cathedral. Family and friends can be found here about the event with dancing, Music, demonic protagonists (Demons) and lots of pyrotechnics, a.

Then the islanders meet at midnight, the magic hour on the beach. There bonfires and who wants, may be released from contaminated sites of the past year, by the written down on a piece of paper and throws it into the fire. The fireplaces are also to donate the solar power. The original tradition of Spain and Portugal, however, has lost its originality over time and has been modernized. Today shine at the Playa de Palma thousands of candles on paper boats with wishes on board in the sea and it is grilled until sunrise, danced, swam and celebrated.

Except in Palma Sant Joan is also the feast of the patron saints of towns Calvià, Deia, s'Esglaieta, Wall, Felanitx, Son Servera und Sant Joan. Sant Joan is located in the Mallorcan central level. The region is heavily agricultural. In addition, the breeding of the black pig is operated here, more and more. Therefore, in the village is also an agricultural fair for the patronal festival held. In Sant Joan is also the 24. Juni die Fiesta "Dancing Sun (Sun Dancing)"Celebrated. At daybreak, people gather, to the emergence of the "dancing sun" experience. The customs in Johannesburg eight come from paganism and illustrate the importance of natural elements for agriculture.

Print Friendly

Auf Mallorca wird das Johannesfest gefeiert – und zwar länger als eine Woche. Den Anfang macht die Hauptstadt Palma am 23. Juni, mit der Nit de Foc (der Nacht des Feuers).

Das Fest beginnt in Palma mit einem spektakulären „correfoc“ (Feuerlauf). Gefeiert wird im Parc del Mar, vor der Kathedrale. Familien und Freunde finden sich hier zu dem Ereignis mit Tanz, Musik, dämonischen Protagonisten (Dimonis) und jeder Menge Pyrotechnik ein.

Danach treffen sich die Insulaner um Mitternacht, zur magischen Stunde am Strand. Dort werden Feuer entzündet und wer Lust hat, kann sich von Altlasten des vergangenen Jahres befreien, indem er die auf einem Stück Papier notiert und ins Feuer wirft. Die Feuerstätten sollen zudem der Sonne Kraft spenden. Die Originaltradition aus Spanien und Portugal hat allerdings im Laufe der Zeit an Originalität verloren und wurde modernisiert. Heute leuchten an der Playa de Palma tausende von Kerzen auf Papierschiffchen mit Wünschen an Board im Meer und es wird bis zum Sonnenaufgang gegrillt, getanzt, geschwommen und gefeiert.

Außer in Palma ist Sant Joan auch das Fest des Schutzheiligen der Ortschaften Calvià, Deià, s’Esglaieta, Muro, Felanitx, Son Servera und Sant Joan. Sant Joan liegt in der mallorquinischen Zentralebene. Die Region ist stark landwirtschaftlich geprägt. Zudem wird die Zucht des schwarzen Schweines hier immer mehr betrieben. Daher findet in der Ortschaft auch eine Landwirtschaftsmesse zum Patronatsfest statt. In Sant Joan wird außerdem am 24. Juni die Fiesta „Sol que balla (Sol que baila)“ gefeiert. Zu Tagesanbruch versammeln sich die Menschen, um den Aufgang der „tanzenden Sonne“ zu erleben. Die Bräuche in der Johannesnacht stammen aus dem Heidentum und verdeutlichen die hohe Bedeutung der Naturelemente für die Landwirtschaft.

Print Friendly